Problems with Vista

pcbobby 18:43 30 Apr 08

OS Windows Vista Home basic

Acer Aspire 5315
1.8Ghz
1Gb DDR2

My elderly neighbour recently bought a laptop as above spec. She does have a clue about computers! She came to me – and I am only a notch above novice!

I did find that the ‘fast talking’ salesman at **world, had loaded about everything that was in the shop! Of which about 10 % was 30 day trial with option to purchase.

I managed to uninstall some items, including ‘most’ of MS Office Home Student 2007 (a trial version). But when I tried to install Word 97 to replace it - it failed.

I have two questions.
1. Is there a similar facility to Word 97 ? It does not have to be elaborate. Freebie if possible.

Or.

2. Can I do a clean install of XP over the Vista?

Many thanks.

Fingees 18:49 30 Apr 08

You may be able to install word 97, and run it in compatibility mode. I honestly don't know, but I suggest you install open office, which does the same and more, and it's free.

I have used vista since it came out, and would not go back to xp..
apart from anything else, as it's a new computer, the drivers, and various other things may not suit XP, and could cause even more problems.

All the best.

pcbobby 18:54 30 Apr 08

Thank you Fingees.
I note your points re XP and the Open Office.

tullie 19:02 30 Apr 08

You can say pcworld you know,no need for **

pcbobby 19:10 30 Apr 08

Tulle
How did you guess!!!!
I could use other expletives about them - but the forum is not the place!!

pcbobby 20:21 30 Apr 08

Any more comments or advice about installing XP over Vista?

diddi.ash 20:53 30 Apr 08

I have just got my new pc from dell, with WINDOWS vista, and it is the best thing ever, love it it so much cooler than XP..

MAT ALAN 21:07 30 Apr 08

Hey Joe, Hows ya doing my friend, Vista EH!!

You will need to do a clean install. Have all drivers and
laptop-specific software for XP ready before you do this. You should