problems transferring isp's-using btvoyager2091

lyanne 01:51 06 Dec 06

have recently moved from bt broadband - to pipex. however have run into problems with my bt voyager 2091 wireless router.
it says that it can only be used with bt servic...hav contacted pipx & bt for assistanc to no avail and am stressin cos only hav one phone line etc... and just bought kids p.c for upstairs which i was hoping to connect to as well.. can anyone help?
by way am total novice so excuse my non it knowledge and jargon etc..
thanks

Graham. 09:10 06 Dec 06

click here? It doesn't look easy!

mgmcc 13:35 06 Dec 06

It is my understanding that the Voyager 2091 is only supplied as part of a BT broadband package and it is *LOCKED* to their service. It requires a genuine BT Username and cannot therefore be set up with a different ADSL provider.

The Voyager 2100 is the retail version of the product which can be used with any provider.

rodriguez 14:10 06 Dec 06

Has the Pipex service been activated yet? If it has, your BT router will need to be unlocked to make it accept any ISP. I have a BT Voyager 200 which I've just managed to connect to Sky Broadband (didn't like the Sky router, it kept cutting the connection out), but I don't think my router was locked as it's old.

Anyway, you will need to upgrade the firmware on the router to make it think it's a retail one (not a BT one) and it should then connect to any ISP. click here for the Firmware file and unzip it. When it's unzipped, you'll get 3 files - one with .nfo on the end, one with .md5 on the end and one with no extension. Ignore the 2 with extensions, you only need the one without.