problems with my dads old computer!

hoopschick 11:52 01 Mar 04

My dad has been complaining that his computer has been slow for some time now - being a complete novice i have been unable to help. we decided to load norton antivirus onto it to see whether this would help everything went ok til he was asked would he like to overwrite some files which he clicked yes - it themn prompted that he needed to put in disc dbcom 98 which we didn't have - since then everything he tries to do comes up with cant find file C/JSLP.exe help please - he's talking about taking it back to the day he bought it and re loading everything - yet neither of us know what we're doing - i have xp and it is so easy compared to his!!!

tenplus1 12:00 01 Mar 04

You could try installing Search & Destroy which is a spyware remover... spyware usually bungs up your pc causing slowdown on processor and internet speed...

( click here )

deadneat 12:12 01 Mar 04

- he's talking about taking it back to the day he bought it and re loading everything - yet neither of us know what we're doing. Not a good idea formatting the drive and reloading everything then. You really do need to know what u r doin.
Ask a friend or take it to a local pc shop.

tbh72 12:34 01 Mar 04

BEFORE you can consider "Taking Back" the computer you must ensure you have all the disks required to do it, and that they work as they should. You should also bear in mind that unless you have backed up you "personal files" they will be lost.

If you wish to reformat & reload your computer post back and we can give you more detailed help.

dbcom is (I think!) a tool used by programmers, similarly that file is too deep for me.

As tbh72, if you have the Windows 98 Installation Disk, with code, there should be no problem formatting and re-installing 98, assuming there are no major faults on the basic PC.

Belatucadrus 13:53 01 Mar 04

click here