Problems with Duron 1300 CPU

BrianW 14:52 23 Jan 03
  BrianW 14:52 23 Jan 03

I am trying to upgrade from Duron 750 to a Duron 1300 cpu. Board is a QDI kineteZ7B,single strip of 256 mb of 133 sdram. I have a large tower case, with two HDDs mounted at the top, away from the m'board. As there was likely to be more heat I got a new Coolermaster HHC -L61 cooler (good for up to Duron 1500 and XP to beyond 2400). This replaces a bog standard Coolermaster block that was running with the amd 750. Problem - I installed the cpu and cooler, booted up,the system recognised the new chip correctly, (set the system clock as 13 X 100) ran for a few minutes and then locked up. I checked the CPU temp in BIOS, recorded as 43 deg C. (Block felt hot - about 60C by Finger). Tried extra grease, wider area of grease and with the old cooler - same result, lock up each time. I have now gone back to the old 750 CPU with the new cooler block - it appears stable. Any ideas what the problem may be and how to resolve it would be welcomed. I have checked the AMD and QDI sites, both say that the Duron 1330 is compatible with the motherbaord and I have the latest version of BIOS and VIA 4 in 1 drivers loaded. HELP ;>{{

BrianW 15:54 23 Jan 03

Anybody?

Gongoozler 15:56 23 Jan 03

BrianW, you shouldn't apply too much grease. You should have just the thinnest film - enough to fill any air cavities. Heatsink grease is an insulator, but less of one than the air it is replacing. What power supply do you have? If it is 250W or less that could be tha cause of your problem. AMD recommend that 250W is used for a maximum 850M processor. Even if your processor is running at 60C it should be ok, but I think below 50C is ideal.

BrianW 16:11 23 Jan 03