Problems with downloading a video file to computer

Triprajul 05:27 07 May 10

Greetings:

I am downloading some TV shows for my wife at the present time. Unfortunately, I really don’t understand the process that is going on. I found the episodes at click here. The files listed on this website are available at click here I go there and I begin the process of downloading a particular episode.

When I click the download button, I get a window on my computer that states that I have two choices: Open it with a certain Media Player or SAVE this file. I click for the default which is Open it with a certain Media Player. After downloading the episode, it ends up in a folder named as follows:

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim\Local Settings\Temp

I know that the episode is in a temporary folder on Drive C: However, if I closed all windows I wouldn’t know how to find this folder again (yes, I am an extreme computer newbie).

I get as far as:

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim but after that I am lost. How do I get to “LocalSettings\Temp”?

If I can find the file again, I don’t know what to do with it after that. I do know enough to run a virus scan on the downloaded file before I open it but should I do after this?

I know that I can I handle this in a better way? Should I keep these files in this “temp” file or I should I move them to an existing folder or one I create for this purpose? Basically, I don’t want to reinvent the wheel. Just please tell me what works for you and especially tell me how I can find this folder on my computer again. Finally, my system is Windows XP (SP2). Any help given is greatly appreciated.

northumbria61 06:56 07 May 10

C:\Documents and Settings\Jim but after that I am lost. How do I get to “LocalSettings\Temp”?

Your Local Settings\Temp folder is hidden at the moment. Do the following:-

Start - My Computer - Tools Tab - Folder Options - View Tab - "Hidden Files & Folders" - change to "Show Hidden Files & Folders" - click OK