problems connecting using wireless

acot 21:40 22 Nov 08

I have recently had BT wireless internet router installed. The wireless internet works fine on my husband's laptop but on mine it says that it is connected but then IE says that the page cannot be displayed, and firefox will not work either.

It works without any problems when connected to the router via an ethernet but not through the wireless.
I have used this laptop to connect to different wireless networks in the past and it has been fine.

Can any give me any advice? I am not good with technical things so please keep it simply worded!

Thanks.

mgmcc 21:58 22 Nov 08

Have you actually "Connected" to the wireless network? In other words, have you run the wireless adapter's software, scanned for "Available Wireless Networks", found and highlighted the one that matches your router's SSID (network name) and selected the option to "Connect" to it? You should be prompted to enter any WEP or WPA encryption key and, once "Connected", the wireless adapter should get its IP address by DHCP from the router and you should have network and internet access.

There is a difference between the Wireless Network Adapter and Router communicating with a good signal and "Connecting" (as in "logging in") to your Wireless network.

acot 22:09 22 Nov 08

yes, I have connected to the correct network and entered the encryption key. Any other suggestions?

Switcher 22:27 22 Nov 08

Does your router support access control which may require that you enter your laptop mac address in the router to enable access

acot 22:40 22 Nov 08

I'm not sure - I've never had a problem connecting to a wireless network until now though. I'm not sure what a mac address is. It works through the wire though.

mgmcc 23:19 22 Nov 08