Problems building a PC

Office 10:04 31 Mar 03

I’m having nightmare. I’ve been building pc’s for the last two years and never came across to this kind of problem.
I’ve just built a pc. The motherboard is PC Chips 810LMR V7.X 266FSB MATX Socket A Video Sound Lan Motherboard. The processor is 1.7Xp, 256mb ram and 40gb hard drive. I’ve connected all the wires and then started the pc. The pc boots up but I can’t hear the beep sound. And I also can’t see anything on the screen. So I changed the processor to 1.3ghz. The pc started and blow up the processor. I could tell by the smell. And way I built another pc replacing it with a brand new motherboard and processor. Again the pc starts and I cant hear the beep sound nor anything comes up on the screen.

Can anyone tell me where I’m going wrong?

MalcSP 10:28 31 Mar 03

purchase the mobo from the same supplier? It sounds like he may have a bad batch. If the supplier tells you he has had no other complaints, take it with a pinch of salt. Fortunately, new legislation about to come into force makes the seller responsible for proving that an article sold had no problem when sold to you if you return it as faulty within six months of purchase. Doesn't help you this time I know. if you have no joywith the supplier, contact the maker with the serial number/batch number etc.

Ben Avery (Work) 10:34 31 Mar 03

...when you started the PC up, did the Heatsink spin (i.e. did the fan on top of the processor work)?

If so, is the heatsink compatible with the processor?

Not always a worry about hearing no beep - most new PC's don't have a pre boot beep as far as I'm aware (I know mine doesn't) so don't worry about that for now.

1.7XP (Is that an Athlon XP2000+ or do you mean an Athlon XP1700 which acually runs at just around 1.47Ghz)?

What heatsink are you using?

BA

Office 11:07 31 Mar 03

Hi Everyone.

Thanks for trying to help me. Your help is always appreciated.