Problem Using Restore CDs

Charlie37 15:16 25 Feb 06

Can anyone help me?

I've spent the morning backing-up my data on my E-Machine 420 Windows XP. With it I received only Restore CDs, 2 of them. I've been trying to restore the Emachine with them as I have one or twice before but now I am getting error messages when I put in the 1st CD: They Read as follows:

Cannot Open R:220 GHO

Appication Error Invalid Dump 11000

Symantec Ghost Ver 7.5

Have had a look at the Emachines Website which in turn sent me to Symantec but no joy, and a Google search hasn't found the answer either.

Anyone any idea please.

Charlie

AndySD 15:19 25 Feb 06

I know it sounds obvious buy try giving the cd a clean.

Charlie37 15:37 25 Feb 06

Don't worry about it being obvious, AndySD, I'm still relatively new to computers - especially when things go wrong!

Gave it another clean but, unfortunately no joy, it's still saying:

Cannot Open R:\220 GHO (not R:220 GHO as stated above).

Charlie

Hertz Van Rentyl 15:48 25 Feb 06

Have you got your CD drive set to first boot device.

Charlie37 15:55 25 Feb 06

Yes... the disk spins on rebooting. And the error message message appears.

Charlie

AndySD 16:18 25 Feb 06

click here have you tried the chat with a tech or the email link?

Hertz Van Rentyl 16:20 25 Feb 06

This person had the same prob unfortunately google translator seems to be on strike
click here

rawprawn 16:26 25 Feb 06

Sorry it's not clear to me, but can you boot in safe mode,(Tap F8 on boot for safe mode) if so try uninstalling Norton Ghost

rawprawn 16:38 25 Feb 06

I don't think uninstalling Norton Ghost will help. As far as I can translate, Norton creates a partition which you would need to format, I'm sorry my French is rusty and I don't want to mislead you.I will have another go but we are going out, so in the meantime someone else may help.

Hertz Van Rentyl 16:59 25 Feb 06

Could try cleaning registry with this before you try discs again
click here