Problem With FrontPage Forms

tbh72 11:38 08 May 03

Ok, so this is probably going to get a little deep. I have never used forms before & have sufficed with "Click here with the following information".

I stumbled across the following piece of html & am getting hooked on forms, however I am just not getting the results I expect.

form method="post" enctype="text/plain" action="mailto:an email address"

It seem's to work fine on my setup IE & OE, with the exception of the following warnings, You are about to send email via IE Do you wish to continue. & OE is trying to send Mail via the internet do you wish to continue.

It there a specific way to ensure users of my form's dont get these warnings & more importantly that the form send from there computers / systems

Taran 12:04 08 May 03

The problem is you are asking a browser to post the details of the form fields using an email action, so its only fair that the browser takes it into its head to warn people that they are emailing etc,...

A couple of ways around this spring to mind. One is to check out your site host for CGI scipts for feedback/email forms. The CGI script (Common Gateway Interface) sits on the web server in your site folder and processes email/feedback forms without giving your page visitors the warnings you are getting above.

Alternative methods using FrontPage are available. If you right click on the form in Normal view and select Form Properties from the drop down list of options, you can have your forms submitted to a database (FrontPage creates it for you but you need to have MS Access and ASP support on your web host for this to work) or you can choose to dump the form submissions into a text file held on your web server and just get it when you want it. When you have the Form Properties windows open, click on the options button for lots of choices.