problem with aol wireless setup netgear dg834g

wotno 00:20 24 Feb 07

Hi all.Can someone please help a complete novice here. I bought a zoostorm 4-6610 laptop.Loaded windows,norton internet security and Aol silver (supplied with netgear dg834 wireless router)everything ok except cannot finish wireless set up on disc. It seems my laptop wont find the router or vise versa.My laptop doesnt seem to have a wireless conection.Have checked the settings on browser using address given.All seems ok.Followed Aols help e-mail they sent me all to no avail.Can use router wired but lost as to what to check now. aol not much help. Any thoughts greatly appreciated. Thanks..........

Kate B 00:28 24 Feb 07

If your laptop doesn't have wireless you won't be able to connect wirelessly. You could buy a wireless dongle click here which will allow you to connect to the router wirelessly.

ashdav 00:39 24 Feb 07

many laptops have a switch to turn on the wireless connection.
Check your manual for details.

jhm 13:39 24 Feb 07

The words on the zoostorm 4-6610 says it has a built in wireless lan. Look for a switch as suggested. Is there an icon on your status bar(bottom right of desktop with the clock) showing a 'radiating monitor' if not get into system hardware devices Control Panel, System, Hardware to check if installed.
If not get into bios on startup-should tell you what to press, Del or F2 are common. Once in look for something that can enable wireless card

terryf 15:28 24 Feb 07

Have you been into control panel> wireless network setup?
This may help click here

SLAYER 07:34 25 Feb 07

Useful info.

Dazza40 21:38 25 Feb 07

I had similar set up issues with AOL. Try running software again but this time select no when asked whether you want use wireless. A bit odd I know but this was the advice I was given which worked.

wotno 21:51 25 Feb 07