prob, nvidia GF4700

sonofquassiemodo 20:56 28 Feb 09

can anyone advise me, if i uninstall my nvidia driver, will it stop me from rebooting properly, im a newbie, sorry, ....im scared to do it just in case the screen is blank on reboot,,,,,been avin probs with it,,,,,,,dollar signs showing up on start up screen, and yellow stripes surrounding cursor, then , shut down, but the start up screen is just covered in dollar signs, and the options are all gibberish,.lol.plz help

MAJ 21:12 28 Feb 09

Windows should load basic drivers, try starting in Safe Mode, press F8 on startup and choose Safe Mode from the options.

sonofquassiemodo 22:24 28 Feb 09

hanks maj, if i uninstall the nvidia, it'll be ok, ill still be able to reboot, but in safe mode,,,,,will i have to set the resolution then,...?

MAJ 23:28 28 Feb 09

Yes you'll be okay to uninstall the drivers, sonofquassiemodo, Windows will load it's own basic drivers which should let you boot the PC and reinstall the drivers for your graphics card as it's probably the drivers you are using are corrupt (by the sound of things). You haven't said which operating system you're using or how the problem started, but try loading the drivers from the nVidia website, see if it helps the situation. Although, it could also be a faulty monitor cable that's causing the problem, rather than the card or drivers.

sonofquassiemodo 00:07 01 Mar 09

oh soz maj, its xp,it just started out the blue,ive had the lappy for 2yrs plus, no prob,but over the last 3-4 weeks its been bad, sometimes its sound for days then ,,, bang,,,,it back to the dollar signs,....thanks again maj for your interest in this,,,,

sonofquassiemodo 00:12 01 Mar 09