Printing Own Stationery vs Buying from Printers

minstrel2nd 21:49 30 Jul 05

Hi Everyone

This is my first posting so I hope I've come on to the correct forum. I run a small business where I require reasonably high quality headed paper, business cards and compliments slips. I'm toying with rthe idea of purchasing a colour laser printer and printing my own in order to save costs.

Has anyone out there looked at the pros and cons?

Particular points of note are:
Quality
Time required
Cost

Any help would be much appreciated and thanks in anticipation.

Technotiger 21:58 30 Jul 05

Hi, first, I am no expert, but - thinking of cost, I am sure that a good printer such as the Epson R300 or similar would for a start be cheaper than a Laser printer - with print quality just about as good, if not better.

I assume you are using XP, so this with Microsoft Word 2000 or similar will provide you with all the templates necessary for your requirements.

I have not, as you say, looked at the pros and cons, just my own limited experience.

Anyway, you have come to the right place - Welcome to the best Forum on the net. There will no doubt be many others coming to you with their own ideas too.

Cheers.

minstrel2nd 22:02 30 Jul 05

Thanks for the kind words of welcome and also the suggestions - this is exactly the sort of information I am looking for.

stlucia 22:27 30 Jul 05

All inkjet printers I'm familiar with don't use waterproof ink, so your letterheads etc. will smudge if they get wet or damp. That won't happen with professionally printed letterhead.

Colour laser printer output, I think, is waterproof.

The biggest cost in professional printing is getting the master plates made. From then on I'm sure the cost is cheaper than doing it yourself.

ade.h 23:04 30 Jul 05

When I first started my own business a few years ago, a tight budget prompted me to create all my own stationery with (at that time) Word and Publisher 2000.