Printer problem-communication error

bison 14:17 21 Oct 03

I am trying to get a printer (Epson stylus colour 660) to work on my kids computer, but when I use anything to print with e.g.word or paint shop pro etc, an error message comes up stating there is a communication error, suggesting to check the cables etc.This does not happen when I do a test page as that prints out perfectly.I have reinstalled it, changed the cables with my printer(and the cables work),I have checked for new drivers and nothing seems to work. Any ideas....?
Thanks in advance.
Bison.

DieSse 14:23 21 Oct 03

Check in the BIOS that the parallel port is set to ECP mode - this is what Epson and HP both recommend.

bison 14:47 21 Oct 03

Sorry I forgot to mention, I am a bit of a novice/thicky with regards to computer jargon/talk, but I do know the basics of computers if this helps.
and BIOS is.....?
I have checked on the printer details and this states Print to the following port- LPT1:(ECP Printer Port).
Does this help

DieSse 15:00 21 Oct 03

It looks like it might be - but to check - when the computer first is powering up, keep tapping the Del key. This should get you into the BIOS (just a set of stored settings about the computer).

Then get to the page (using the arrow/enter keys) that has the parallel port settings on it. If it already says ECP, then leave it alone - if not change it (it'ss indicate how).

bison 15:23 21 Oct 03

Nothing happens- it just boots up as normal.
Does it make a difference being on Microsoft ME?

wx622 15:33 21 Oct 03