Print Button In Excel

dogbreath1 17:35 28 Aug 10

Please have in mind that I am an Excel rookie!

I want to place PRINT buttons on an Excel 97 spreadsheet and I believe that this can be done using a macro. I need to be able to print the whole worksheet with one button and a predefined range with a second button.

Coherent step by step guide, anyone!!?? ;)

Also, I want an aesthetically pleasing method of flagging up a warning when a cell returns data beyond an acceptable range.

TIA

db.

VoG II 17:47 28 Aug 10

View > Toolbars > Controls, click on the button icon and draw the button on the sheet (just like drawing a rectangle). Right click the button, select View Code and paste in

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
'Print used range
With Me
.PageSetup.PrintArea = .UsedRange.Address
.PrintOut
End With
End Sub

Add another button and add the code

Private Sub CommandButton2_Click()
'Print defined range
With Me
.PageSetup.PrintArea = "A1:E25"
.PrintOut
End With
End Sub

(change A1:E25 to suit)

On the sheet on the Controls toolbar click Exit design mode (top left icon). Try clicking the buttons!

To flag up data try Conditional Formatting click here

dogbreath1 19:21 28 Aug 10

Thanks, VoG™.

Very clear.

Works great!

dogbreath1 10:32 29 Aug 10

Is it possible to substitute an imported image for a drawn button in Excel 97 whilst maintaining the original button's functionality?

VoG II 11:00 29 Aug 10

Then you need a different approach. Press ALT + F11 to open the Visual Basic Editor, select Module from the Insert button and paste in

Sub PrintAll()
'Print used range
With ActiveSheet
.PageSetup.PrintArea = .UsedRange.Address
.PrintOut
End With
End Sub

Sub PrintSome()
'Print defined range
With ActiveSheet
.PageSetup.PrintArea = "A1:E25"
.PrintOut
End With
End Sub

then press ALT + Q to close the code window. Right click an image, select Assign macro and assign PrintAll or PrintSome. Repeat for the other image.

dogbreath1 14:59 29 Aug 10