Poor video transfer quality

bosshu17 14 Mar 13
Answered

I am new to transferring from camcorder to pc so would be grateful for any help..

I bought one of those Video-2-PC kits off e-bay which is basically a USB cable and tutorial video. I managed to transfer from the camcorder (Sony Handycam TRV460E) and produce a DVD but have to say, was very disappointed with the results. The video quality was not as good as the original.

I since learned that firewire was the way forward and should expect like-for-like results.

I installed a firewire card (Startech 1394A) into my Dell Inspiron 660s tower. The results are pretty much the same as with the USB cable.

I have read that I should get a perfect digital picture using firewire.

Can anybody point me in the right direction please. I have spent about £60 already and am getting nowhere fast......

What was it that was poor about the quality? Fuzzy? Washed out colour? Jerky movement? And: I assume what you're importing is an .avi file? What are you using (software) to transcode it to DVD format?

By the way: historically, in the days of USB 1.0, Firewire was indeed superior to USB. With USB 2.0, that's now much less the case.

woodchip 14 Mar 13

Its not the Wire, its the Camera and software used that makes for a good Video

bosshu17 14 Mar 13

I'm using Arcsoft showbiz software to capture and transfer. The picture does look 'washed out' and grainy. The results from the Sony camera on Digital8 tapes before transferring are really outstanding so there is something not right. The cable used to transfer from camera is a dv to firewire.

woodchip 14 Mar 13

Then Software must be Altering the file, changing it to more compressed file. So its loosing Quality

Number six 15 Mar 13

I believe your camera records to MPEG-1 format? Your problem is likely to be in the encoding to DVD process - i.e. MPEG-1(camera) to MPEG-2(DVD).