poor video playback

bpzoom 17:38 04 May 03

WIN XP with SP1. 700mhz PC, 256mb ram. ESS1868 audio drive plug and play driver version 5.1.2535.0 of 2001 vintage. No further drivers appear to be available. I am new to video play back and new to broadband. The video quality I am getting for news items and sports news is poor. Degenerates into a series of stills and stops altogether, sound OK. Apart from possible deficiencies in AOL broadband ( why always blame them?) I would like someone who knows more than me to tell me if it is likely my configuration e.g.video card is not up to the mark. My machine is home built with a video card carried forward from an old Viglen PC.From the info. above can I adjust the speed of what I have got (XP says it is working OK), or if it may be the cause of the problem, what sort of video card should I be looking for, (if at all) Thanks

kane_2002k 01:11 05 May 03

if it's streaming video then u can expect pic quality to be bad, With ur PC spec, consider a upgrade in graphics card, possibly otherwise just close all other programmes down and then see if there is any improvement.

If possible download a video file off the internet, e.g movie trailer, but not streaming!!!!! (so it's saved onto ur harddrive) play that back and see the quality of it. If isn't any better i would put it down to PC spec, if there is an improvement then it's just the fact streaming video is poor quality.

kane_2002k 01:13 05 May 03

not worth getting more then a geforce 4 mx (around £50) - after that ur processor will be holding the graphics card back.

bpzoom 12:15 05 May 03