Poor Response on Windows Vista Basic

victorjohnp 17:00 29 Jan 08

I'm a novice so please bear wih me!Recently the response on Vista Home Basic has been very poor with screen freezing and intermittent and jerky response.I am not into games but I do a fair bit of video editing with Pinnacle. I have ample disc space (660 GB). I have been advised to upgrade my Grapics capability and/or Ram currently 1024 Mb.My system is as follows:-Pentium Dual Core Processor 2.08 GHz (800Mhz FSB,2x2Mb cache),Integrated Intel Graphics Media accelerator 3000.
Can anybody advise me if upgrading would help the situation and if so how? Thanks.

silverous 17:07 29 Jan 08

That sounds like a fine spec for Vista Basic. More than a GB tends to be 'recommended' as best for Vista but you can run it fie on 1gb which you have (although some of that will probably be being eaten up by the graphics card as I believe that is integrated graphics).

Is it new and has this always been the case? Recently upgraded to vista?

It sounds more like some kind of configuration/hardware issue to me as I don't have dual core and only have 1GB of ram and I don't get any freezing/jerky response. It isn't as quick as XP but that's mostly vista for you on comparable hardware.

Video editing, if it is something you do a lot of would probably justify more ram (up to 2GB at least) and a dedicated graphics card possibly wouldn't be a bad idea. If you did those, which wouldn't be overly expensive depending on the graphics card, then at least you could rule out the harwdware spec as dual core should be plenty good enough.

anskyber 17:11 29 Jan 08

1Gb of RAM is fine for Basic but you have integrated graphics and you are video editing. Taken together I think you are pushing things a little. I would start with an upgrade to the RAM and, if needs be, look for a video card.

Widow's Son 17:11 29 Jan 08