Please Recommend Wireless Setup.

southpaw 20:23 13 Apr 05

Hi

I'm new to networking so I really would appreciate some help and advice.

I currently have a Centrino Laptop and a PC.

I have just ordered Tiscali Broadband and would like to set up a wireless network.

1.) What equipment can you recommend? Am i correct to think that I only need a Router and a PC card? As the laptop is wireless ready.

2.) Will this cause any delay or slowing of the broadband? or is good equipment the key?

3.) What sort of prices should i be looking at and any recommended supplier?

All help and advice greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

raeman 21:08 13 Apr 05

Like you was new to this but bit the bullet last week and set up a wireless network fitted a Network interface card (NIC)to the PC and bought a 3COM wireless ADSL router from Dabs (about 60 quid) set up no problem works great you will find as i did several manufacturers and everyone has their own opinion/experience of what's good. As for speed it's as fast as it was .Good idea is to check manufacturers websites as i downloaded user guides before i started to give me an idea before i fitted it.

raeman 21:19 13 Apr 05

Forgot to add also connected laptop , fitted a wireless card to it and it worked no probs AND its running Windows ME!, works all over the house and has stopped fights with teenage daughter about who gets on the net(2 of us at same time and speed is fine).

southpaw 21:26 14 Apr 05

Any others?

TomJerry 09:31 15 Apr 05

D-Link DSL-G604T 54Mbp Wireless ADSL Router w/DWL-G122 USB Adapter £64.57 click here

The Kestrel 12:52 15 Apr 05

If your desktop PC is situated close to a 'phone socket, don't waste money buying a wireless card. You can simply hard wire the PC to the router with an ethernet cable - much cheaper. If your modem is a USB type, it will not connect to a router, in which case you will need to buy a combined modem/router for your network.

georgemac © 13:03 15 Apr 05