Please help:What network allows 1 or more host

lana_01 17:31 22 Apr 09

Hi Everyone

I'm a first year student studying IS. I can't seem to find reliable information for this question: What network has one or more host computers?

I know its either LAN, peer to peer, client/server or WAN, but I can't be sure. I've agonised over this for hours and I still can't figure it out. This is my thought process:

What is the true definition of "host computer"? Does "host computer" = server, or are they only similar?

I know "peer to peer" and "client/server" are the two different types of LAN, and that WAN is a large collection of LANs.

If host computers are servers, then that includes all of them right? So then that would be LAN or WAN?
If host computers are similar but actually not servers, then the answer is peer to peer?

Thanks for reading this. Any help would be deeply appreciated^-^

Cheers!!

brundle 19:41 22 Apr 09

I would say peer-to-peer. LAN or WAN are related to scale, the relationship between individual machines is not relevant to the question, not in the way the terms client/server and peer-to-peer are.

Tech Guy 19:52 22 Apr 09

A host is an end users comnputer

A LAN ( local area network) is a collection of hosts that are connected together (with switches/routers) to share files/appliactions/printers etc.

A WAN (Wide Area Network)is a collection to networks connnected together over large distances ( e.g. the internet, a corperate WAN ( connecting offices together in different cities).

peer to peer network is where two or more hosts shares files/printers etc. but each host looks after it's self.

Client/server is where resources and permissions centrally looked after.

Hosts CANNOT be a server and vice versa.