Please help,publishing website problem

silvermoon 18:01 11 Jan 08

Hello all, sorry if this posted wrong place.
I have published my website using web easy pro version 5. However, it can only be viewed at www.(sitename)/(sitename.htm. I cannot view it at www.(site name)
I have named home page as index.html and saved it as such but no joy. Webeasy pro website help doesn't even seem to cover version 5 any more!
Can anyone help? Would be much appreciated. You will probably realise I'm a complete beginner at this!

CodeMeister 20:43 11 Jan 08

Hi SilverMoon,

Firstly, what exactly happens when you try to access the site via www.(site name) ?

If you can supply the error message then that might help.

Secondly, try renaming index.html to index.htm

Kemistri 21:11 11 Jan 08

Make sure that your file did not become index.html.html. Not necessarily the answer, but one possibility. I keep the viewing of file extensions enabled to make life a bit easier.

silvermoon 21:16 11 Jan 08

Thanks to you both for your replies.When I try to access the site via www.(site name)it just shows my hosting companies holding page. I will try the two suggestions above, thank you.

silvermoon 23:51 11 Jan 08

Eureka! Finally got site working ok in IE. But in FF, if I type in URL it goes to home page ok BUT if I go to another page and then click on home button, it takes me to webhosting holding page again?! How frustrating is all this when one hasn't a clue what ones doing, and is the wrong side of age 45! ;-(

silvermoon 00:26 12 Jan 08

I know I'm talking to myself this time of night, but cleared cache in FF after reading some other posts,(didn't even know what a cache was, let alone knowing how to clear it!) and hey presto, all is hunky dory. Now feel really chuffed, and am going to bed a happy bunny, even if I am the wrong side of 45! ;-)

CodeMeister 13:19 12 Jan 08

Hi silvermoon

So what was the cause of the problem ?

Did any of our suggestions help you ?

silvermoon 00:16 13 Jan 08