please help,Is AVG anti virus any good

bibo1465 09:44 30 Apr 05

hi everyone

Please i need your advise. I am usin AVG antivirus free edition personal use.

-Is it good antivirus as norton?
-I am thinkng to buy the AVG antivirus $33.00,about £21 pounds,because if i need any help i will get reply from there technical support?
-was it worth it to buy the AVG antivirus?

I have Zone alarm free XP SP2.

Another question please,which utilities do you recommend me to download, free utilities if possible, roughly the same as Norton systemworks (one button check up)?

Because if i have any problem i will be able to fix the problem.

I hope to hear from you soon.

My kindest regards

Joe R 09:52 30 Apr 05

I have been running this A/V for a few years now, and have never had any problems.

this link will let you know what other forum members think. click here

for free utilities. click here

Diodorus Siculus 09:54 30 Apr 05

I don't think that you will need to pay for the support; if AVG is set to scan imcoming mail then it is unlikely to let in any virus. Along with a decent firewall you will be fine.

Avast is an alternate AV program - and one that I have a preference for.

Joe R 09:57 30 Apr 05

Just reread your posting. It is the free version I use.

keith-236785 09:58 30 Apr 05

i use the free avg anti virus and have done for some years now, it has saved me several times and always seems to work.

people say you get what you pay for, if you want to pay for the pro version then thats up to you, but in the 5 or 6 years i have used AVG i have never needed to contact them.

i do have Zone Alarm pro (paid for) version because i have a home network, ZA has also protected me well over the years.