Please comment on my new web-site.

Ross Murray 16:29 05 Nov 07

Hi!

I am currently in the process of development myself a portfolio site (I am an HNC Multimedia student). The current address is click here.

The site is designed using photoshop and director and exported to shockwave.

It is still very much in development but I'd like comments on design etc.

I'm planning on having audio commentry for all content, as well as mouseover animation on the links/ buttons.

Please comment on the progress
Ross

CodeMeister 17:59 05 Nov 07

It leaves about two thirds of the screen blank when viewed with a screen resolution of 1023 X 768.

It is totally reliant upon the Macromedia Shockwave 10.0 plugin being installed.

The user has to effectively download the entire site, before they can view the first "page" and as the site gets more content, the size of the Flash movie will become quite considerable, especially for those still on "dial-up".

Apart from that, it's not bad.

Forum Editor 20:04 05 Nov 07

many visitors will simply go away when they get a message from their browser saying "Click to run an ActiveX control on this page"

These days people are very wary of allowing anything to run on their machines the instant they land on your homepage, and if you ever want a site to really succeed you will avoid autoring your pages in Flash. It can look very nice,and it's certainly great fun to work with Flash, but the days of all-Flash sites are long gone I'm afraid - unless there's a specific relevance, like a gaming site, for instance. Apart from anything else Flash page content usually takes far longer to update, and that alone is a good reason for avoiding it in any commercial context.

Go for nice clean HTML pages - your visitors will feel safe and the site will run faster.

barryoneoff.co.uk 22:38 05 Nov 07

and closed the window I'm afraid.

computerboy 19:46 06 Nov 07

it worked for me but then I user Opera so it works it opera, it was quite small Ross