Playing movie maker project on dvd player?

Lord Isleworth 11:43 24 Nov 05

I am new to camcorder editing so apologies if this is a stupid question. I am currently capturing video projects from my Sony camcorder using windows movie maker. My one and only project downloaded fine using firewire and I was pleased, as it was a relatively straight forward exercise, and I was on a bit of a steep learning curve having never owned a camcorder before.
My question is around the format it is saved in. From what I have read you cannot then play a movie maker burnt disc on a dvd player. Is there a way round this in movie maker?? I did got pinnacle SE and it kept crashing on video capture so I gave up with it. I tried to rectify the conflicts it was having but try as i might I couldn't get it to capture video, or edit the video captured in movie maker.

GroupFC 12:24 24 Nov 05

“Is there a way round this in movie maker??”- the short answer is no.

The longer answer - once you have finished the project you need to save the finished movie, and the choice of format is somewhat limited in MM (from recollection (I am work now and MM is on the machine at home!) you have a choice of .wmv of .avi. You do have a choice of saving to CD, but this will be in HighMat format and as I understand it not all domestic DVD players are capable of playing this format.

You could save the movie to your PC in .avi format (but be warned these files can be huge!) and then use your burning s/ware to put the film on disc, which should put it into a format recognisable on your DVD player.