pipex for broadband

happy dragon 18:46 10 Sep 04

was thinking of signing up to pipex for broadband,has anyone got any feed back regarding them as a isp good or bad thanks

Taw® 19:00 10 Sep 04

As with all questions you will get the good and the bad depending on the experience. I have been using Pipex for 2 years now and have only experienced one serious down time that was well documented on this forum. I could get a cheaper deal and save about £60 a year but I have always found their support excellent mind you have only needed it twice so better the devil you know. If you check out some of the BB statistics you will always find Pipex in the top of the good marks. Thats my pennyworth, you should get someone now with a poor review

happy dragon 19:07 10 Sep 04

thanks taw did a service provider comparison with adsl guide and out ot the 6 i picked pipex came out top better then wanadoo which i was considering and bt

harps1h 20:16 10 Sep 04

i have been with pipex for a year now and apart from one outage 3 months ago for a few hours this is an excellent isp.

iwould recommend it

Halmer 20:28 10 Sep 04

apart from the fact that when there have been the two down times that have affected me in the last twelve months I have been unable to get any accurate,relevant information from their website on why I am without service. Nor have I been able to get throught to their helpline despite waiting on the other end of the phone for over half an hour time after time.

Th other issue to bear in mind is that once you have signed up for twelve months you will be unable to cancel any monthly direct debit payments during this period if you read the small print, even if the service is crap or fails. Your bank will not cancel the monthly payment without instruction from them which seems remarkable to me given that it is your Visa/Credit card.