ping 127.0.0.1

BBez 17:10 30 May 04

having problems with my system.

When i ping localhost or 127.0.0.1, 6 out of 10 reboots, i get no reply.

Tried 2 other NICs, Different PCI slots with all 3 NICs, loaded fail safe defaults and optimised defaults but get same result with all NICs...

any suggestions, thanks in advance...

Gigabyte GA-7VA v1.0 mobo...

Rob_E 17:25 30 May 04

Hi,

I'm no network expert but...

If you can't ping the loopback address then it sounds like a problem with the tcp/ip stack, not your NIC - pinging 127.0.0.1 doesn't send anything to a NIC, just tests the tcp/ip stack

try re-installing your networking software (control panel, add/remove, dial up networking)

Graham ® 17:27 30 May 04

And for those who don't know what ping is

click here

Taran 17:36 30 May 04

The loopback ping only checks to see if TCP/IP is correctly initialising.

I've lost count of the times I've heard, read or argued about whether or not it checks if the NIC is working.

It doesn't.

You can successfully use the loopback ping on a machine with no NIC fitted. I've done so several times when the equipment was on hand and a particularly stubborn individual refused to take my word for it. Often a student who thinks they know better is the most difficult to convinc. If they won't take my word for it I rip the NIC out of a test machine, boot it up and watch the loopback ping do its thing. This normally goes some way to convincing them.

Reinstalling the TCP/IP element of your network software is the quick fix that normally works. You don't have to play with any of the other features as a rule.