PHP Applications with MySQL

fieldyweb 09:35 23 May 05

this is a "Is this possible to do?" question, i have no experience of SQL and especially MySQL, I have been compiling on my laptop (localhost) several applications which i could use at the school i work at, they all use PHP and MySQL (My pc has the windows XP version of Xampp loaded)

now i have several very useful applications such as SugarCRM and Moodle which all have similar fields, such as user details, billing details, etc, however at the moment to use these apps as a "suite" then i would have to inpup the data into 5 different applications, and that doesn't seem right as all the apps go back to the same copy of MySQL, so is there a way to link the databases?

So if i enter the details for a new students into SugarSuiteCRM, then when i open the other, that students automatically has linked relevent information?

If it is possible, is it difficult, i understand how databases work, just not the language involved in MySQL.. maybe some kind friend of humanity has designed a nice app to help me do this?

And pointers in the right direction would be great!!

Xzrox 14:16 24 May 05

Okay then, I might be wrong here, but I presume the case here is that you require access to the same data through more than one application.

Two solution concepts immediately come to mind, but I shall help you further if you clarify the situation more or if you tell me I have misunderstood the case, in which case I shall re-attempt! :-)

Either you

a) allocate the appropriate data, on input, into the different tables that the different applications use to run - this will involve formatting the data, handling it accordingly and inserting it to fields within tables

or