Photoshop Version

iqs 10:37 22 Oct 14

Hello

I have no experience of using any type of photoshop software. But would like to learn. Is there a version which has all the bells & whistles,but is aimed for the newbies ? Thank you

john bunyan 10:56 22 Oct 14

For keen amateurs, I think Photoshop Elements 13 is very good (£65 + VAT). If I were starting again I would choose that. I have CS5 but the latest CS6 is only on subscription , which I do not like. The CS suite is over £600 and in my view is only for professionals. If you want a freebie, to get used to photo manipulation I would try Paint. net

Photoshop Elements

Paint.net

john bunyan 11:00 22 Oct 14

PS "Photoshop" is the brand name of Adobe's photo suites. There are many other photo suites to choose from. Others may well comment on their merits, but the advantage of Photoshop itself is that it is the "industry standard" and if you like Elements and want to go further, the CS versions are similar but vey complicated.

hssutton 11:38 22 Oct 14

I use Photoshop CS6, but would recommend Paint.net an excellent editor plus it's free.

Paint.net

Serif have a free download which is very good, virtually a Photoshop clone. Be aware though they will continue harassing you to upgrade. Serif PhotoPlus

iscanut2 11:42 22 Oct 14

I agree with John, try Elements and if you do not want to pay full price for latest version, try an earlier version such as 6 by looking on EBay. I did and use that version happily and in only cost me £20.

john bunyan 12:02 22 Oct 14

Just ensure, if you buy an older version, that it is compatible with your Operating System.

LastChip 12:30 22 Oct 14

There can be an issue using old software.

If you're shooting in RAW as many professionals do and using a recent camera, it may be older versions of Photoshop do not have the necessary drivers for the later camera.