Pentium III Running Temperature

rotate 12:47 17 Sep 03

I have a Pentium III 1GHz processor which has always run at what I have been told is a high temperature. I have a Coolermaster heat sink and fan plus 2 case fans, one inhaling and one exhaust. These are finely balanced and the Coolermaster is running at around 3500 rpm. The temp of the CPU reports back at being 74c and reaches a maximum of 77c under stress. According to Intel?s CPU spec site, this processor?s temp spec is at 80c. Does this mean it should run at around this temperature and so 74c would be good or is 80c the maximum temp before damage to the processor occurs.
My system is over a year old and I have never had a problem but it is just the fact that I have been told that this is hot.
Also if I turn the Coolermaster up to full to sound like a jet engine the CPU temp will not go any lower then 74c.
Before I had the Coolermaster the running temp was 76c.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Tog 14:00 17 Sep 03

Turn off the case input fan and see what the temperature does.

rotate 14:47 17 Sep 03

I am using a program called SpeedFan and so can control all the fan speeds from my desktop. I have now turned off the input fan but nothing changed. I have since changed all the fan speed settings to various speeds including stopping the case fans but the temp remains the same. SpeedFan also monitors the CPU temp and this matches up with the BIOS temp reading....still at 74c.

Tog 07:36 18 Sep 03

Check the processor is really 1GHz and not overclocked. Intel have an identification utility click here

If it's OK I would guess that your heatsink is not making good contact. Have a look at Intel's troubleshooting guide

click here

Hope this is of use

rotate 08:00 18 Sep 03