PCI dll

Electronic_Eric 01:08 27 Mar 08

Hi,
I'm an electronics engineer and I'm trying to interface some of my electronics with a computer. I have windows XP and I'm programming in C#. I have a PCI parallel port. I'm struggling to find any drivers that will interface the PCI port with a program. I do have the manufactures driver installed. Can anyone recommend a driver for what i am after? Or can anyone tell me the basic principles i need to look at when creating a driver? Ive never created a driver so i don't know exactly how hard it is or what is involved with it.

Hope to hear from any of you soon,

Cheers

crosstrainer 06:31 27 Mar 08

What are you trying to interface with? Writing drivers is a very complex issue....Tried a couple of times with odd bits of kit, and found it to be a very difficult task.

Electronic_Eric 19:22 27 Mar 08

Oh dear :(

So far im trying to make sure i can talk to the parallel port/outside world properly, so i have some LED's attached on to the parallel port. That is all that im trying interface with at the moment. Before i start making real programs to interface with some real electronics.

I tried to update the drivers before i posted the thread but they wouldn't work. I sent the company that made the parallel port an email to get some help. So they have suggested today i should completely uninstall the port and start from fresh again. I did this and the new drivers installed correctly.

The parallel port now works but it doesn't seem to work 100% correctly. Im now going to have to look at the program a little more to make sure i ain't doing anything daft.

Cheers

crosstrainer 10:35 29 Mar 08

Outside the uk?

Need to know specifcations of required connections.

Electronic_Eric 22:34 29 Mar 08

I'm in the UK.