pchip m810 mother board

adrian-204905 09:46 15 Mar 04

im running on windows m e iv fitted a new cpu athlone 1800 but seting keep going to the old cpu setting how do i resolve this plase i have little knowledge on computers

Gongoozler 09:53 15 Mar 04

Go to this site click here, then click on the "Download Manual" button. The manual is in a zip file. When you have downloaded it, double click on the file name to unzip it (you will need unzip software to do this), and you should then have the manual. This will tell you what to do.

adrian-204905 10:10 15 Mar 04

went to site no manual to down load and iv seen manaul it doesnt help

temp003 10:17 15 Mar 04

The Athlon 1800+ has a clock speed of about 1530MHz (not 1800MHz).

The CPU frequency should be 133MHz (not 266).

The CPU ratio (more usually called multiplier) should be 11.5.

This gives a CPU speed of 1529.5MHz or thereabouts.

If the memory you're using is PC133 SDRAM, then the DRAM frequency should be 133MHz. If you use PC100, it should be 100MHz.

adrian-204905 10:21 15 Mar 04

but it keeps going to old setting of old cpu

adrian-204905 15:14 15 Mar 04

im running on m e iv fitted a new cpu athlon 1800 but it wont stay on setings goes to old setting processer clocl 1150mhz went into bios cpu pnpset up cpu ratio just as a squiggle and cpu speed is same how do i sort this manuel is no help i have little knolage on omputers so if you can help please put in simple terms please

temp003 02:04 16 Mar 04

Your current BIOS probably does not support the Athlon 1800+ (you probably have been suspecting this).

Found the UK PCChips website. click here

There are two different BIOS update file for your motherboard.

One is the file 030808s.exe. This applies to all M810 motherboards, all revisions except v7.1c

For M810 revision v7.1c, the BIOS file is 030513s.exe (it's called 030512s.rom on the site, but it's the same).