PC works when wireless but not hard-wired

old china 12:47 15 Mar 06

I've a 3Com wireless 11g modem router and 2 PCs. My PC hardwired to the router gets erratic internet connection (sometimes fine, often can't find page) but if I unplug the ethernet cable and stick an usb wireless adaptor to the PC, everything's fine. Must also add that the LAN connection seems to have IP-addressing problems too. (I posted another thread in Absolute Beginners on 14 March before I got to this stage.) See link click here

Where does the problem lie? Any ideas much appreciated.

Danoh 13:47 15 Mar 06

It is highly unusual for the wired connection to be less reliable then your wireless connections.

From your other thread, you have logically narrowed down the variables.
And it does look like its your ethernet cable which is at fault. (they are very cheap e.g. at click here)

But your mention of IP addressing problems could be a contributory factor ~ although I would expect the wireless connections to be affected as well in that case.
Can you elaborate on those?

Are you setting the router to expect a dynamically assigned IP by your ISP? (most ISPs do that).

I must commend you on your clear thinking despite the pressure from teenagers' homework!

dms05 14:42 15 Mar 06

The SIS900 is the Network card in your PC. I have the same in one of my laptops and it works fine with D-Link WiFi.

From your extensive description of the problem, and the fact that the system did work correctly for a period of time, it would seem the 3Com has a problem. As others have said 'if it's faulty then Misco have a legal responsibility to put it right - and because it went wrong so soon you have the legal right to a refund and even if nothing was wrong you have the sameright(under the Distance Selling regulations you can return the goods within 7 days for ANY reason).

However it could just be the SIS900 Network card has developed a fault - did you use it before you added the 3Com?