PC won't boot- hard disk problem?

energy324 03:10 10 Jul 14

Hi everyone! So my computer when I turn it on, it immediately goes into start up repair. Once it scans for a bit it says "contact your admisntrator to determine if you need to repair or replace the disk". In the details it says it's a "bad hard disk".

Now, a couple things. I had this problem before, and when I restarted the pc, it started working again. I don't understand how this is possible if the hard disk was truly faulty.

Additionally, to give more background. I did some things to the computer so it would run faster. I first completely reinstalled windows. After that I did a registry clean using cccleaner. And then I defragged the hard drive. This defragging, however, is something I have never done before, and it is only thing I know that I did that could have affected the hard drive. The strange thing is, is that I know that the computer was working fine after all the processes, and I was able to surf the internet ect. However, I left the computer untouched for about a week and now I can't get it to boot and keep on getting the above error.

I guess my question comes down to, is it really a hard disk error? Is this only fixable by replacing the hard disk? I just don't understand why the hard disk would suddenly have a problem when the computer wasn't even touched. Thanks!

Secret-Squirrel 09:16 10 Jul 14

Energy, normally when you get this type of message:

"Windows detected a hard disk problem. Back up your files immediately to prevent information loss, and then contact your computer manufacturer to determine if you need to repair or replace the disk."

.....it means that Windows has detected bad hard disk sectors. If that's really the case then the drive can never be trusted and should be replaced ASAP.