PC will not start

Never again 20:38 28 Jan 03

I have been given an apricot MS series pc with a p2 processor. I cant get any beeps on start up or signal to the monitor. Graphics are on the motherboard. The monitor works on another pc. Any suggestions please.

Altair 21:28 28 Jan 03

Sounds like someone has disabled the onboard graphics and used a pci card instead and then removed it before they gave it to you. Beg a graphics card and see if that does the job or see if you have another output to the monitor at the back as that might be another graphics card.

MaffPink 00:00 29 Jan 03

i'm no pro at pc's but i know a bit. when we got our first computer exactly same thing happened. it was dead, no signal appeared on the monitor and it wasnt booting up.
anyway, we opened our computer up and the cpu (central proccessor unit) wasn't in its slot, it was loose, i think it must have come loose in transit. we clicked the cpu back in position and it worked fine.
before u mess around with it, make sure all leads are connected, i know its obvious and probably patronising at the same time.

thats it, good luck

Maff

billyliv 00:28 29 Jan 03

Hi, Sounds like your PSU is dead,or your connections from your PSU to the motherboard are not seated properly, or even something more obvious, the fuse in the plug that fits into your wall socket has blown. When you switch on do you have any indication that there is power going into your machine?, Do you hear fans starting up, do you hear any thing at all? Normally Graphics failure is accompanied with 4 Beeps. Let us know. Cheers, Bill

cream. 00:48 29 Jan 03

It looks like you will have to start from scratch.

Check the power lead and fuse.

Is there a switch, on\off on the back of the machine?

Open the case.

Can you see; a cpu with h\s\f. memory, hard drive.

Switch on again, any lights on motherboard, any fans turning even for a split second. Any type of light from cdrom or floppy drive.