PC will not boot

HelenTherese 21:09 17 Oct 06

Please help me. I'm not very technical when it comes to hardware. I'm a software engineer!

My PC suddenly switched off and now it will not boot up. It does all the checking of the IDE and bus controllers and then says non-system disk in the CD drive and wants me to put a system disk in.

I have put in the disk I got with the PC when I bought it but it says it wants to re-install windows and the repair console doesnt seem to do anything. If I do re-install windows will it overwrite everything on my PC?

VoG II 21:18 17 Oct 06

Try a repair click here

ed-0 21:28 17 Oct 06

" It does all the checking of the IDE and bus controllers "

Is the hard drive shown when it is checking the IDE channels? If it is not, then it can not find your hard drive, so it will not repair.

Check the cdrom drive, did it have a disk in or the floppy drive for a disk. This can cause this error.

" If I do re-install windows will it overwrite everything on my PC? "

If your hard disk is present in the bios and you do that, yes it will overwrite everything.

If you can do a repair, as by VoG™, your data should stay intact.

HelenTherese 21:52 17 Oct 06

The repair saya there is no hard disk. Will I lose all my data now?

ed-0 13:21 18 Oct 06

" The repair saya there is no hard disk. Will I lose all my data now? "

So you need to go into the bios and check the settings, can you do that or have you not been there before?

If you are unsure post the make and model of the motherboard.

Or if you do not know it

post the string of code at the bottom of the first post page ( the page that is showing your ide drives and memory count ) We may be able to decipher the code and find which motherboard you have. We can then graphically show you how to check the bios.