pc shutsdown no warning

micey 16:58 08 Nov 04

for some reason my pc shuts down after being on for about 20 mins then i restart it,it then shuts down whithin 5 mins,i repeat the process another 2 times then it seems ok, it has happened twice so far, both only seems to be on a monday! its windows xp it has norton security on with system ok ,nothing found after scan, would like to know why? thanks for any help.

rawprawn 17:23 08 Nov 04

I'm no expert on this, but it sounds a bit like overheating. Apart from cleaning it out inside, maybe someone with more knowledge can help.

micey 17:48 08 Nov 04

cheers for reply,but i dont think it is overheating ,its been on for a couple of hours now,and kids usually welded to it and have no probs,its typical realy as kids not here on mondays!

Dorsai 18:22 08 Nov 04

Does it only do it when the kids playing games? If so, that sounds like overheating.

A game is demanding on the cpu, and so it gets hotter. If all you are doing is brousing, this puts less strain on the system, so it does not get so hot.

Also the fact that it shuts down much faster once re-booted. It is already very hot, so gets too hot much sooner.

I would take the cover off the PC and have a look at the cpu fan/heatsinkm and case fans (if fitted) just to satisfy yourself that the fan(s) spinning freely, and that the fan/heatsink are not all fluffed up.

Fans suck lots of air through them, and dust in the air sticks to the fan/cpu. Most house dust is shed human skin, and skin is slightly oily, and oil is slightly sticky. Plus if you have pets, loads of shed pet hair. i could go on, but i am sure you see where i am coming from.

PA28 19:10 08 Nov 04