PC ports not working? Please help!

Finnish guy 14:24 23 Jun 14
Answered

Hi! First im going to tell you that im not a computer expert but i can understand normal things like DVI ports and so on, but not that much "inside the computer", but now straight to the point. Im struggling around here with my computer ports maybe not working? So i own a Acer Predator G3610 and it has a DVI port and a couple HDMI ports, but the port im confused about is the D-SUB port or VGA as i quess it is the same thing. So yeah my computer has this 1 D-SUB port and it had a plastic cover on that said "dont remove" but i removed it because my HDMI cable broke and i had to use that D-SUB (VGA) cable instead. When i plugged the cable into the computer and monitor, the screen just didnt get a signal and went to power saving mode. I tried to use a different monitor and still nothing, but with a different computer, it worded. So i now know that the problem is probably in my computer. Please help me fix this issue and i post pictures and more info gladly if needed, thanks! Sorru for the bad English :/

Secret-Squirrel 16:21 23 Jun 14
Answer

" ...my computer has this 1 D-SUB port and it had a plastic cover on that said "dont remove"......................When i plugged the cable into the computer and monitor, the screen just didnt get a signal"

That sounds completely normal.

When your PC manufacturer installed the separate graphics card, this disables the onboard graphics built-in to the motherboard so they put a plastic cover over the port to try and prevent you from using it.

Secret-Squirrel 17:00 23 Jun 14

".........but I have not come across such a cover."

I've come across it many times on big-brand PCs that have had a separate card installed.

Secret-Squirrel 17:16 23 Jun 14