PC no longer booting up.

Southcoast 09:39 17 Jul 09

Hi all,

My fear is that inevitabley I will have to take my PC to someone for a second opinion, because I have no idea what is going on. I built my PC nearly 4 years ago, spec as follows:

Athlon 64 4000
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
1GB Corsair XMS
512MB GeForce 6800GS
2 x 74GB WD Raptor's
Hiper 580W PSU

I clean it regularly and I've been building PC's for around 10 years and never had any problems. I cleaned it yesterday and now it won't boot. Everything comes on, fans, GFX, HDD, everything - but the screen stays blank. I pulled it apart and rebuilt it, but no luck. There is no lose wiring. Tried removing RAM and the motherboard responds with regular long beeps. Tried a different HDD and no luck. I'm now just trying to boot up using Mobo, GFX card, CPU, and HDD. The one thing I did notice is the 74GB Raptor I have WinXP installed on boots up but normally after a few seconds it starts making a loud buzzing noise when booting up - this is no longer happening. If the HDD was defective then other HDD's would work, but they don't.

Really don't what to do! I will try rebuilding it to see if it was a lose wire, but I doubt it.

Any suggestions would be helpful, I'm looking to build a new PC but obviously won't until I know what is wrong with this one.

PS: 4 & 26-pin power sockets are plugged in, yes.

howard64 09:54 17 Jul 09

could the graphics card have died? I had this a year ago and just by chance put another card in and she booted. The graphics card had a short circuit on it found by examining with a magnifier.

woodchip 09:54 17 Jul 09

IF not something loose, seams strange as it's after you have been inside it. First thing to check would be with a known working PSU. As lights and fans mean nothing. does the graphics have it's own power supply plug is it in place and secure???????

woodchip 09:57 17 Jul 09