PC froze and stopped working!!

johndrew 18:57 19 Dec 05

I am new to Windows PCs and any thing you tell me needs to be spelled out.

Whilst online today, connected to Pinnacles` site - browsing not downloading - when my PC froze. The mouse pointer would not move and I could not get any response from any thing on the desktop. Ctrl, Alt & Del would not raise the Task manager. The hard drive activity light was on continuously.

I left the machine for quite some time as the HD light stayed on but when it went off the machine was still frozen so I did a `red button` restart. The Bios screens came up and eventually I reached a screen that told me Windows had had a problem and it offered the choice of normal boot, last known good restore, safe boot and use an ASR disk.

By the time I had read the screen it had started booting again so I left it. It got as far as the Windows XP screen with the progress bar at the bottom and stopped. Again I left it in the hope it would start again but it didn`t.

I did another `red button` restart and at the options screen selected `safe boot`. The machine started as if it was O.K. but at some point during the screen full of .dll files it froze again and would not continue.

At this point I shut the PC down completely (switched it off at the mains) and tried to think what else to try. I remembered the ASR option and found my last item, put it in and turned the machine on. It read the disk and went to a DOS (I think) screen and froze again. I tried puting the second of the two ASR disks in but it had no effect so again I rebooted the machine. To my surprise it went into the Desktop.

However, The Desktop Cleanup Wizard and the Found New Hardware Wizard both started. I closed the cleanup wizard but was concerned over the new hardware as the PC has not been changed since new in June 2005.