PC cannot detect digital camera through USB

Nonagon 13:18 01 Jan 06

I was supplied with drivers etc. for Sony cyber shot U [Image Transfer software]and it always automatically downloaded images to relevant folder. This just stopped for no appparent reason. I tried to switch to adobe photoshop -any one any ideas how I might get back on track?
Thanks
Nonagon

rawprawn 13:24 01 Jan 06

It should appear in "My Computer" as a digital camera (An extra drive) and you can save the files to where you want from there.

Nonagon 13:31 01 Jan 06

No sign of an extra drive in My Computer. In photoshop it says no device found but this USB cable will connect my Sony mp3 player for example. I'm wondering if there is something wrong with the camera or have I set up incorrectly somehow? The download system worked perfectly heretofore -without any great effort on my part -which is just as well as I'm a rank amateur & I've loads of images in folders on my hard drive..

jack 14:17 01 Jan 06

There is a college of thought that suggests that software supplied with cameras is best left in the box.
It is true that with a modern system plugging a camera into a USB port and switching on the download facilitiy on the camera the system will simply recognise another drive on the screen in'My computer '.
It has worked for you in the past, but it may well be a good idea simply to uninstall it, and then try the camera, the system does not need the software.[Assuming you are 2000/XP]

Moreover you certainly do not need the camera plugged in or its software to locate an image folder, wherever you placed them on the harddrive.
So uninstall the software.
Locate the images with explorer- That is go to My Documents /My pictures[or where ever you keep the images] from the desk top with out any program running.
Or if you still have difficulty go to Start/find/