PC BSOD Clock interrupt error

Sheep_1 10:47 21 Jun 14

Recently my PC has been suffering from Blue screen crashes and other freezing problems. On the Blue Screen it says "Clock interrupt not received on a secondary processor".

These BSOD issues and crashing problems have become persistent when playing on a variety of games and very occasionally happens when I am not playing a game.

I'm not an expert on this sort of problem but I have attempted to look into some minidumps to possibly help me somewhat but unfortunately they haven't helped me at all.

So, I was wondering if anyone on this site can help point me in the right direction to solving this annoying problem?

Sheep_1 11:21 21 Jun 14

Not a 100% sure what I'm doing but I went into the Event Viewer's Administrative Events and found many warnings and errors leading up to the most recent crash. How do I check for BIOS updates?

Sheep_1 12:30 21 Jun 14

My PC was custom-built and I checked online at the manufacturers website. My Motherboard is an 'ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. P8Z77-V LX' and when I typed that into the site it came up with new updates for the BIOS.

I clicked the newest one and downloaded it but when I looked into the downloaded .ZIP file it contained only a .CAP file. I've never encountered one of these before and was unsure how to open it. Looking online I heard that most BIOS update folders should also contain a README file but this one didn't so I was unsure what to do with it.

Looking back into the Event Viewer I noticed that when the crashing occurs it comes up with an ERROR and then a CRITICAL after it. The ERROR ID is 6008 whilst the CRITICAL ID is 41, though I am not sure what this means.