pc beginner needs help Please!!!!!!

shellsblues 12:52 13 Jun 06

I have a home pc that is connected to telewest broadband via a modem. Ive now invested in a laptop i was told id need a wireless network adaptor and a router so i purchased both and installed both but i still cant get internet on it ive phoned the helplines but being a beginner i didnt really understand what they were saying. I need someone to help me step by step to sort it out and help me get my laptop on line any suggestions would be very much appreciated. The only wires that came with the laptop is a phone wire but i dont want it via dialup and one with a usb on one end and a square type connection on other where do they go so sorry told ya i was a beginner. lol Please can someone help me.!!!!!!!

shellsblues 12:53 13 Jun 06

sorry forgot to say im running XP on both.

retep888 13:44 13 Jun 06

Please tell us what wireless router you've got?

You'll need a cable router not a combined ADSL/MODEM router.

mgmcc 13:46 13 Jun 06

The first thing you should probably tell us is which model of Wireless Router you have bought. It is important with Telewest that you use a stand-alone wireless router, often described as a "Wireless Cable/DSL Router". Don't confuse the reference to DSL with models which are a combined "Router & ADSL Modem" - these are for ADSL broadband delivered via the phone line and not suitable for Cable.

Assuming you have the correct router, power everything off, including the Cable Modem which should be left without power for a couple of minutes. This is important so that it "releases" the association between your existing connection and the IP address it has allocated to it. It will then recognise a different connection and allocate a new IP address to it.