Overheating + Dying Laptop

kyleread1 14:35 10 Jan 06

Over the last couple of months, my Acer Aspire 1622LM has been acting up. If i even dare to run a program that demands a decent amount of RAM it overheats within minutes and shuts off.
Before this had never been a proble, and it has just gone out of warranty (always the way)
There is no error, virus or anything else, it is purely because it overheats, no matter where i put it, it will overheat and shut off. This is particularly useless when im writing coursework for my degree, i just CANT trust it!!

I used to be able to run several highly demanding programs without the computer showing any sign of overheating or stress.

Any ideas? I'm a poor student and i desperately need this laptop to work properly.

HELP!

Chegs ®™ 14:43 10 Jan 06

If its out of warranty and your desperate enough then see if you can find a way to open it up and clean-out dust dirt and see if the fan(s) are free-turning.

kyleread1 14:57 10 Jan 06

I suppose i could, although i AM somewhat reluctant to do that because im not 100% sure what im doing, no all that experienced with Laptops

961 15:07 10 Jan 06

Before you try opening it up try a soft furnishing brush on the end of a Dyson vacuum to clean all the ventilation slots

Keep the vacuum motor well away from the laptop

Check that your laptop battery has not gone the way of the parrot

kyleread1 15:10 10 Jan 06

Thanks, i'll try the brush.
However it overheats with, or without the battery in.

EARLR 15:46 10 Jan 06

they are avalible from amazon.com

Belatucadrus 16:46 10 Jan 06
  kyleread1 16:54 10 Jan 06

EARLR - Thanks a lot, looks really good, could be excactly what i need.

Belatucadrus - Thanks for the link

Mytob 18:20 10 Jan 06