outlook is empty

suzie005 01:25 03 Oct 03

just been in for the first time today and it's totally empty as if it's just been installed.there is no email account set up.absolutely nowt at all.all is ok with OE and opera.does anybody have an explanation for this?

DieSse 01:53 03 Oct 03

If you've just been into it for the first time - then it will be empty - what did you expect to find there?

suzie005 02:16 03 Oct 03

first time TODAY.meaning since teatime yesterday.it looks like i've just added it to the system.no email account,messages saved settings and contacts.totally EMPTIED.not done owt at all.have u an explanation?

hugh-265156 02:40 03 Oct 03

hi suzie005,i have no experience of outlook or any idea what has or might have happened but if you have xp then a system restore to yesterday(if you have not already tried it)might work.

DieSse 09:07 03 Oct 03

Sorry - thought you meant - today, you'd been into it for the first time. Shows the need for extreme clarity when talking to old duffers!!

Outlook settings are all held in a file called xxxxxx.pst - where xxxx may be outlook, or your user name (ish).

So do a search for *.pst files, and if you find one, make a note of where it is, then in Outlook, do a File - Open for that filename.

suzie005 09:53 03 Oct 03

cheers.sorry i didn't get back u sooner but it's been nuts here.

DieSse