Orange live box

docbob2596 08:10 04 May 08

Hi, Newbie here.
I have live box from Orange, and quite happy with it as I use the Orange VOIP service for free.. however I woudl really love to boost its wifi signal as we have a large garden, and I have a garden office.

My idea was to plug in a wifi router ( without modem) - I lready use an ethernet hub for wired internet netwrok connection with no probelms, but as soon as I plug in the wifi router nothing works.

I have a Linksys Wireless G WRT54GS.

I've tried all sorts of stuff but can't get to the internet even by cable through the Linksys to the livebox and thence to the internet...

What settings should I give it to enasble it oto connect through the LAN cable to the live box and through it to the internet...

Is it possible to do this or am I just wasting my time?

mgmcc 09:01 05 May 08

You need to connect the Linksys router's WAN port to a LAN port in the Livebox. The Linksys will then get its WAN IP address (which will actually be an address in the Livebox's LAN subnet) from the Livebox and the Linksys in turn will allocate the LAN IP addresses to the computers connected to it.

I don't know which subnet (IP address range) a Livebox operates in but, if its address is in the 192.168.1.x range, this will conflict with the Linksys which uses this subnet. You would therefore need to change the subnet that one of the routers operates in and the simplest way to do this would be to change the Linksys router's own IP address from 192.168.1.1 to, say, 192.168.3.1 so that it then allocates addresses in the 192.168.3.x range.

docbob2596 09:31 05 May 08

I'll try it out later today once doen the obligatory mayday stuff.....

docbob2596 10:18 05 May 08

Ok. I'm not sure what to really do here...

here are the settigns from my live box - I give everything in case its needed.

INVENTEL version : v5.10
Livebox-C758 (00:16:AE:84:C7:58)

ADSL firmware version : A2pBT009c1.d17d
Connection mode : G.DMT
Type : Interleave