optical mice

Les 19:40 14 Feb 07

My friend in Matlock has a 7 year old computer with the Windows 95 OS. She's having difficulty in scrolling with her ball type mouse and has been told that an optical mouse is what she needs. She has expressed doubt whether this would be OK on her old computer, having probably been told by someone that Windows 98 is the oldest OS she can use for this item. I think it can be used, what do you think?

She is an absolute novice where computers are concerned and as I am so far away from where she lives I cannot be of any practical use in solving her problems. For instance, she wishes to go Broadband - she is, by the way, 75 years old.

There is a dealer in the Matlock area who is computer literate - he is also a skybox fitter? If he is willing to be contacted by my friend perhaps he would answer this post- or anyone knowing his location would be so kind as to let me know?

Devil Fish 19:52 14 Feb 07

i cant see a problem with it providing the computer has a ps2 connection

usb would be out of the question as it is not supported by early win 95 releases and only fully supported in win 98

malgall 20:11 14 Feb 07

i agree as long as you have a ps2 small round plug for your mouse and are noy using a serial
plub which is a rectangle shape

woodchip 20:15 14 Feb 07

It may not support USB if it a old 98. 98se is OK

Technotiger 20:20 14 Feb 07

Hi, I would guess that there is absolutely nothing wrong with her old mouse, or at least nothing that a good cleanout will not fix. Suggest to her that she removes the ball from beneath the mouse so that she can then clean the rollers inside the mouse, she will need to use something like a nail-file in order to remove the gunk that collects on the rollers. This gunk should be completely removed from the rolers so that they are again as smooth as new - the mouse will then work fine again.

Technotiger 20:22 14 Feb 07