open file preventing zip drive from ejecting

oz2003 20:00 24 Oct 03

Thurs 23rd Oct. Saw Linyloo4 message regarding CD Writer drive and Zip problems.
I've had similar problems with an LG 48x16x48 CDRW drive (IDE) and a ZIP100 (usb). Keep getting message that file is open and unable to eject media. Zip drive can be ejected by the manual button but the CDRW refuses to be ejected except when rebooted - this cause corruption of disk. I have Nero 551015a and Incd 3.29. Iomegaware is the latest. Win 98SE is the OS. Have run file System file checker and all seems ok. Everything was working ok and this seems to have developed in the last couple of weeks.
Any ideas would be appreciated as I'm a novice and am reluctant to tinker too much without guidance.

Friday 24th.
Have now checked further and found that the ZIP drive is ok for opening files and copying files to it BUT.... when copying from it to the hard drive the problem is created. Only a re-boot will clear the error - ejecting and re-inserting the disk won't clear the fault.

brambles 16:19 25 Oct 03

Not sure I understand the problem completely but if you open my computer & right-click on the CDRW drive you will have an option to eject.

Recommend you look at click here & download the latest software for your Zip drive.

brambles

R4 16:41 25 Oct 03

Nero/incd have that problem occasionally believe is was a bug. Nero Now on version 5.5.10.58

R4 19:20 25 Oct 03

The newest version of Nero is 6.xxx. see :click here

Your version 5.5.10.15a was buggy upgrade to 5.5.10.54 from here: click here

oz2003 19:30 26 Oct 03

In responding to "brambles" - thanks but that is the problem I've having - I'm unable to do a software eject by right clicking.