Online form in html

Kat_chaos24 11:32 16 Nov 05

Hello,

I am new to webdesigning and am making up a website for a friend and they want an online contact us form that goes to their email.

Is there a way I can do this just using html? Or do I need some javascript/asp in there? I have tried the simple 'mailto' command but this isnt working. Heres my attempt:

click here

I also need a 'thankyou for your enquiry page' rather than the button thats there at the moment, but Im not sure how to incorporate this into the code.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I have no idea what to try next...

Thankyou,

Kat

Taran 12:12 16 Nov 05

You need a form handling script, which takes the information the form user inputs and turns it into an email which is then sent on to the address you specify in the handler script.

Most people use either a CGI (Common Gateway Interface) or PHP (Hypertext Preprocessor) script.

Your choice could be governed by what the web host supports where the site is currently hosted. If you are allowed to run your own CGI scripts and you have a CGI bin you can obviously choose to use a CGI script. Where the web host supports PHP you can opt to use that instead.

PHP scripts are usually easier to get your head around than CGI when you are first starting out. Most PHP scripts need no file permissions assigned to them, while pretty much all CGI scripts need permissions assigned to allow them to run using CHMOD on Apache servers, or by using the built in permissions tools in your FTP client.

Here are some links for you to try for PHP form handlers:

click here

click here

click here

And for CGI scripts: click here

I'd plump for PHP if your web host supports it. Instructions for use are on the various script sites and included when you download them.

T

Taran 12:15 16 Nov 05

Since you mentioned ASP, I should really have added that you can use an ASP form handler much as you would a PHP scipt.