ok for credit card details on line?

dfghjkl 23:37 11 Nov 03

is it safe to buy from a reputable store by credit card on line? i am about to make my first on line payment(eclipse computers or savastore,not sure yet)half the people at work say ok and half say no way.my card is covered by a payment protection plan so i am covered for theft,and i think fraud,but what do you expirienced buyers say?

VoG II 23:41 11 Nov 03

Yes it is "safe". Well, safer than giving your card to a server in a restaurant etc. I've been buying online for several years with no problems.

Just be careful not to click any buttons twice - it can take a while to register your transaction.

mark e 23:41 11 Nov 03

if the site has secure method for payment, enter details and click away i have for three years with no problems.

Mark E

Rtus 23:45 11 Nov 03

I deal with DC/CC online ,,Usually Ok to do so but do remember that if you get mails (or phone calls ) to divulge your details Even if they appear to be from the vendor ..DONT.. The payment protect has a lower & higher limit so check them ..(usually anything under £100 not covered) Ive recently paid directly into an account On line banking allows this Instant transfers..So no numbers are given out to anyone..

GANDALF <|:-)> 00:08 12 Nov 03

Ther eis never any need to worry. If you are shafted the CC companies will reimburse you double quick.

G

spuds 00:22 12 Nov 03

Just make sure that the site you use,as the usual safeguards for c/c internet transactions. HTTPS and Locked Padlock,plus information of transfer to a secure site etc.If it as these things, then everything should be fine.I have used both Eclipse[Coventry] and Savastore[Watford Electronics], both are secured.

If you are still unsure, before you make a 'first time' purchase, see if the company as a telesales number, and ask questions there.

Totally-braindead 01:37 12 Nov 03