Office 2010 beta - quick newbie questions...

HMG1K 14:10 11 Jan 10

I'm a newbie when it comes to such betas, in this instance Office 2010 - so I wondered what are the downsides to using such an unrealeased product, aside from having a few potential bugs?

Here's my predicament. I've bought a new laptop recently with a 3-month trial of Office 2007 expiring this month. I'm also about to do a fresh install on my home system of Windows 7 on a new hard drive, so will need Office.

However i don't want to go and buy licences for 2007 if 2010 is due out in June.

Can I use the beta version and then pay to buy licences when the official release is out?

Thanks for your advice in advance.

bremner 14:14 11 Jan 10

When the beat expires - August I seem to remember - then you will need to uninstall the beta and install your newly purchased full version

HMG1K 14:18 11 Jan 10

bremner - you are a star! That is just perfect for me!

:-)

Thank you!

Woolwell 14:38 11 Jan 10

Remember any beta program may have bugs. It would be wise to set a system restore point before installing it so that you can revert if you have problems. In fact with beta programs I would invest in something like Acronis so that you have a clone of your good disc to go back to.

kdt 18:12 11 Jan 10

I have been using 2010 since last year with technical preview & now beta. Except for some send receive bugs nothing worrying. Also as far as I know October 2010 is the limit when you have to decide & uninstall the beta & buy the licence. I f you don't it will work in limited mode only.Keep your fingers crossed may be beta users could get special deal...nothing concrete though I ordered 2007 Enterprise Edition for my new pc but will keep 2010 betas on my old pc & laptop for sometime.

skeletal 18:46 11 Jan 10

I have just started to use the beta, and me being me, have already found a few bugs. I have switched back to 2007 for some important work, but will keep dipping into it.