Office 2007 Beta 2.0

amyfleur 14:59 07 Aug 06

I have just bought the DVD September issue of PC Advisor which I thought would contain Office 2007 Beta 2.0.

Unfortunately it looks as if I missed the issue with this programme on the DVD\CD.

It appears I was reading an outdated piece of news!!

I do not want to download it via internet, so does anyone know if there is another way to obtain/purchase the Office 2007 Beta 2.0?

Woolwell 16:38 07 Aug 06

I am concerned that you have used the Absolute beginners forum.

You need to be aware that Office 2007 is a beta version ie still at the test stage and could well be full of problems.

Personally I do not think that this program is for inexperinced computer users of even for moderately experinced computer users. I would wait until the final version is released.

This thread may help:
click here

Woolwell 16:39 07 Aug 06

should read "inexperienced computer users or even moderately experienced"

amyfleur 16:54 07 Aug 06

I did not know on which forum to ask this question, however I do usually use the Helproom.

Fair enough, if you think the Office 2007 beta version may not be suitable for beginners, I will just have to be patient and wait! I was just curious and eager to see what it has to offer in the way of changes.

I do stumble around regards the internet (just discovered Wikipedia - brilliant site), although I have 15 years of Office experience (no pun intended) having been a PA for BT and was using Word Processors and then PCs pre-internet days.

VoG II 17:00 07 Aug 06

Why not take a test drive click here

Woolwell 18:12 07 Aug 06

Sorry - wasn't meant to be a slapped wrist.

Forum Editor 18:28 07 Aug 06

why the Office 2007 beta shouldn't be suitable for a beginner - it's a beta 2 version, which means that there will only be minor changes between now and release.

My advice is to give it a try, as VoG™ suggests - I think you'll like it, once to get used to the rather different interface.